Articles 1-4

Identity and Purpose


Section 1. Name - Bangsamoro Basic Law Section 2. Entity Name - Bangsamoro Section 3. Purpose – establish a political entity


Section 1. Bangsamoro People

These are natives of Mindanao, the Sulu archipelago and its adjacent islands including Palawan, and their descendants, whether of mixed or3 of full blood at the time of conquest and colonization.

Section 2. Freedom of Choice. – The freedom of choice of other indigenous peoples shall be respected. Section 3. Bangsamoro Symbol. – The Bangsamoro Parliament shall adopt the official flag, emblem and anthem of the Bangsamoro.

Article 3: TERRITORY

Section 1. Definition of Territory

This is the land mass as well as the maritime, terrestrial, fluvial and alluvial domains, and the aerial domain above it. The Bangsamoro territory shall remain a part of the Philippines.

Section 2. Core Territory

  • the present geographical area of the ARMM
  • the Municipalities of Baloi, Munai, Nunungan, Pantar, Tagoloan and Tangkal in the province of Lanao del Norte and all other barangays in the Municipalities of Kabacan, Carmen, Aleosan, Pigkawayan, Pikit and Midsayap that voted for inclusion in the ARMM during the 2001 plebiscite
  • the cities of Cotabato and Isabela
  • all other contiguous areas where there is resolution of the local government unit or a petition of at least ten percent (10%) of the registered voters in the area asking for their inclusion at least two months prior to the conduct of the ratification of the Bangsamoro Basic Law and the process of delimitation of theBangsamoro.4

In order to ensure the widest acceptability of the Bangsamoro Basic Law in the core areas above-mentioned, a popular ratification shall be conducted among all the Bangsamoro within the areas for their adoption.

Section 3. Contiguous Territory

The areas which are contiguous and outside the core territory may opt at anytime to be part of the territory upon petition of at least 10% of the registered voters and approved by a majority of qualified votes cast in a plebiscite.

Section 4. Inland Waters. – All inland waters, such as lakes, rivers, river systems, and streams within the Bangsamoro territory shall be part of the Bangsamoro. The preservation and management thereof shall be under the jurisdiction of the Bangsamoro Government.

Section 5. Bangsamoro Waters

The Bangsamoro waters shall extend up to 22.224 kilometers (12 nautical miles) from the low-water mark of the coasts that are part of the Bangsamoro territory. The Bangsamoro Waters shall be part of the territorial jurisdiction of the Bangsamoro political entity.

Where a constituent local government unit of the Bangsamoro and an adjoining local government unit are so situated on the opposite shores such that there is thirty (30) kilometers of waters or less between them, a line equally distant from the opposite shores shall be drawn to demarcate the Bangsamoro Waters and the municipal waters of the adjoining local government unit.

Should they be so situated that there is more than thirty (30) kilometers but less than 37.224 kilometers of waters between them, a line shall be drawn at the edge of the 15 kilometers municipal waters of the adjoining local government unit to demarcate it from the Bangsamoro Waters.5

Ten years after the passage of this Basic Law, the Central Government and the Bangsamoro Government shall discuss the enhancement of the area of the Bangsamoro Waters through the necessary processes and modalities.

Section 6. Constituent Units. – The provinces, cities, municipalities, barangays and geographical areas within its territory shall be the constituent units of the Bangsamoro.

Section 7. Collective Democratic Rights of the Bangsamoro People

The collective rights of the constituents of the Bangsamoro shall be recognized.

Article 4:

Section 1. Self-Governance

In the exercise of its right to self-governance and self- determination, the Bangsamoro is free to pursue its economic, social and cultural development.

Section 2. Democratic Political System

The Bangsamoro Government shall be parliamentary. Its political system is democratic, allowing its people to freely participate in the political processes within its territory.

Section 3. Electoral System

The Bangsamoro Government shall adopt an electoral system suitable to a ministerial form of government, which shall allow democratic participation, encourage formation of genuinely principled political parties, and ensure accountability.

Section 4. Civilian Government

Governance in the Bangsamoro is the responsibility of the duly-elected civilian government. Civilian authority is, at all times, supreme over the military.

Section 5. Promotion of Unity

The Bangsamoro Government shall promote unity, peace, justice, and goodwill among all peoples, as well as encourage a just and peaceful settlement of disputes.6

The Bangsamoro abides by the principle that the country renounces war as an instrument of national policy, adopts the generally accepted principles of international law as part of the law of the land and adheres to the policy of peace, equality, justice, freedom, cooperation, and amity with all nations.

Section 6. Promotion of Right

The Bangsamoro shall adhere to the principle of enjoining what is right and forbidding what is wrong.

Section 7. Social Justice

The Bangsamoro shall establish a government that ensures that every citizen in the Bangsamoro is provided the basic necessities and equal opportunities in life. Social Justice shall be promoted in all phases of development and facets of life within the Bangsamoro.

Section 8. International Treaties and Agreements

The Bangsamoro Government shall respect and adhere to all international treaties and agreements binding upon the Central Government.


No comments yet. Post a comment in the form at the bottom.

Latest Articles

How to Fix Ukraine
How to Fix Ukraine
The Age of the Universe
The Age of the Universe
Material Superphysics
The End of Capitalism (and Marxism)
The End of Capitalism (and Marxism)
The Elastic Theory of Gravity
The Elastic Theory of Gravity
Material Superphysics

Latest Simplifications

Nova Organum by Francis Bacon
Nova Organum by Francis Bacon
The Analects by Confucius
The Analects by Confucius
The Quran by The Prophet Mohammad
The Quran by The Prophet Mohammad

All Superphysics principles in our books

The Simplified Series

Developing a new science and the systems that use that science isn't easy. Please help Superphysics develop its theories and systems faster by donating via GCash